art and awareness

sahaja peace (detail)  100x100cms  acrylic on canvas  2014  melinda blair paterson
sahaja peace (detail)     100x100cms     acrylic on canvas     2014     melinda blair paterson

I’m an artist living in the Northern Rivers of New South Wales, Australia and am passionate about awareness or consciousness and expressing this through art.

I  started my artistic career over 10 years ago with a spontaneous awakening after my mother passed away in 2002. I spent the first five years painting intuitively without any formal training, but somewhere along the way I got the idea I needed to go to art school so that I could say I was ‘a real artist’.

After three years of training and a lot of frustration I finished with some wonderful technical skills but felt completely devoid of what had been an innate intuitive joyful expression in my life. It took me another three years to stop listening to the critical conceptual voices in my head that were very much of the contemporary art world speak I’d learnt in art school.

Now I’m happy to say I am standing as an artist that paints and creates from that space that has no name and is beyond the conceptual mind. I call it ‘consciousnessism’.

I was recently asked to feature my work on a artisan’s blog called ‘the awakened eye’. This blog features artists that express their work from a nondual perspective. It was such a liberating experience. I finally felt I was able to talk about my art without having to dumb it down for the contemporary conceptual art world. I was able to speak about my art in a way that is about consciousness.

This is what I plan to bring to this blog. To share my art, creativity and nondual awareness that prompts a deep desire to express this in a form of beauty that is an offering and invitation to life.

Mx

6 thoughts on “art and awareness

  1. Your new blog is a welcome addition to the tribe of artists who see their work as much much more than the making of a commercial or decorative product. How satisfying! Thank you Melinda; I look forward to your posts, and when you get your subscription-by-email widget up on the page, I’ll be clicking it! x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your art Melinda, particularly the found objects made into jewellery. I spent a bit of time ages ago making necklaces by crocheting wire and adding stones and beads. Over it now though. Look forward to hearing and seeing more from you. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh that’s so interesting JK…. you did crochet jewellery too. I have to say I’m not doing much these days either. I still have a few pieces for sale in a shop in Mullumbimby and just make more if requested. My creativity seems to be all absorbed in Blogland at the moment. 🙂 Mx

      Liked by 1 person

Comment

