having apparently forgotten

having apparently forgotten your true nature - pen and pencil - 29apr15 - words from Rupert Spira - drawing by Melinda Blair Paterson - 29apr15
having apparently forgotten your true nature – pen and pencil – 29apr15 – words from Rupert Spira – drawing by Melinda Blair Paterson

Some days seem to be full of pointers, don’t they? Today’s pointers were – remember and return to the truth of ‘who you are’.

My early morning was spent catching up on some emails and blogs, one of which is Dhamma Footsteps by Tiramit. It’s a wonderful series of postcards from a Scotsman living overseas in various parts of Asia. His awareness and sharing of the ordinariness of life brings a smile to heart. So I like to wait until I have the space, quiet and presence to read his latest post, which inevitably opens me into a new moment, an other world, and an awareness of life so richly immediate.

Today’s post ‘return to go’ was a sharing of being aware, being busy, being aware of being busy, and remembering to, as they say in the Monopoly game, return to go. Also beautifully pointed to by Tiramit in this poem from Liu Wemin:

To be able to be unhurried when hurried;
To be able not to slack off when relaxed;
To be able not to be frightened
And at a loss for what to do,
When frightened and at a loss;
This is the learning that returns us
To our natural state and transforms our lives.
[Liu Wemin, 16th Century]

The day moved forward and by late morning I was sitting at my desk with pen and pencils in hand drawing whilst listening to Rupert Spira’s meditations – The light of pure knowing. As usual, I just let Rupert’s words and guidance wash over me as I disappear into my world of ‘contemplative doodling’, staying open to a line or two that may drop into awareness. Sure enough. The line dropped in: … having apparently forgotten your true nature. And I knew this would become the title of today’s drawing. A beautiful pointer to remembering to stop, drop in, and acknowledge the ‘true nature’.

Thanks to Today, Tiramit and Rupert… Mx

2 thoughts on “having apparently forgotten

  1. I’ve been to eight of Rupert’s week-long retreats. He’s the clearest nondual teacher I’ve ever met. And such kindness! So the post of mine that you liked, on http://www.theheartofthematter-dailyreminders.org is inspired by the teaching. I often write during the days I’m on retreat with him. I don’t know where you live, if you are close to where he holds retreats, but they are amazing.
    –Amrita
    PS thanks for liking my post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. hi Amrita. Thanks for writing to me. I live near Byron Bay and am a good friend of Miriam Louisa who I believe you know well.
      I hope to make the trip to the US or UK one day with my partner to sit with Rupert…. unless we can convince him to come to Australia in the meantime. I would be most interested in helping organise that! 🙂 Mx

      Like

Comment

